City, University of London is an independent member institution of the University of London. Established by Royal Charter in 1836, the University of London consists of 18 independent member institutions with outstanding global reputations and several prestigious central academic bodies


The Northampton Institute (now City, University of London) was founded in 1894 with the objective of promoting “the industrial skill, general knowledge, health and wellbeing of young men and women belonging to the poorer classes.”

Research is organised by schools, academic departments and in smaller clusters called centres and institutes.

Institutes and Centres are research groups that provide a framework to facilitate collaboration between departments within and across subject areas.

Each school, department and research centre at City is delivering excellent research from an increasing proportion of their academic staff, all of whom are experts in their chosen fields.

City’s five schools all have their own research centres covering their various departments. Each has particular areas of strength, such as

  • the Cass Business School’s expertise in leadership
  • the School of Health Sciences’ long-established focus on ophthalmology
  • the School of Arts and Social Sciences’ hosting of the European Social Survey
  • the School of Mathematics, Computer Science and Engineering’s leading creative role in engineering design and software development
  • the City Law School’s specialism in EU law

For more details visit:


Available Technologies

Noninvasive Intracranial Pressure Monitor

TRL: 3 Status: PCT Application Availability: Licensing

EU-Japan Centre
European CommissionMeti